Erik eriksons theory on aging

Erikson believed that achieving a balance between autonomy and shame and doubt would lead to will, which is the belief that children can act with intention, within reason and limits.

Erikson also argues that "Intimacy has a counterpart: Distantiation: the readiness to isolate and if necessary, to destroy those forces and people whose essence seems dangerous to our own, and whose territory seems to encroach on the extent of one's intimate relations" No matter what the cause, this sense of mortality precipitates the final life crisis.

generativity vs stagnation

They gain a better understanding of cause and effect, and of calendar time. This helps Erikson's eight stages theory to be a tremendously powerful model: it is very accessible and obviously relevant to modern life, from several different perspectives, for understanding and explaining how personality and behaviour develops in people.

intimacy vs isolation

Anal Stage - It's a lot to do with pooh - 'holding on' or 'letting go' - the pleasure and control. Oral Stage - Feeding, crying, teething, biting, thumb-sucking, weaning - the mouth and the breast are the centre of all experience. The focus is on learning, skills, schoolwork.

Eriksons stages of development chart

Integrity vs. Erikson's psychosocial theory basically asserts that people experience eight 'psychosocial crisis stages' which significantly affect each person's development and personality. Identity: Youth and crisis. Some guilt is, of course, necessary; otherwise the child would not know how to exercise self-control or have a conscience. Guilt Once children reach the preschool stage ages 3—6 years , they are capable of initiating activities and asserting control over their world through social interactions and play. Fans of Freud will find the influence useful. Erikson never showed precise ages, and I prefer to state wider age ranges than many other common interpretations.
Rated 8/10 based on 55 review
Integrity vs. Despair in Psychosocial Development